Skip to Content

EMS Committee

EMS Committee

The NOTS EMS Committee Advisory Board includes members from NOTS affiliated hospitals along with physicians, regional fire chiefs and regional EMS providers. The committee is co-chaired by Dr. Thomas Collins and Dr. James Sauto. The purpose of the committee is to establish education, guidelines and standards for the transfer of the trauma patient to an acute care facility. The information is available to any physician, EMS organization or EMS provider throughout the region. The goal of the committee is to improve outcomes in our trauma patients.


Thomas E. Collins, MD, FACEP

Thomas E. Collins, MD, FACEP
Director, Emergency Medical Services
MetroHealth System
Medical Director, City of Cleveland,
Department of Public Safety
Assistant Professor, Case Western Reserve
University School of Medicine

James W. Sauto, Jr., MD

James W. Sauto, Jr., MD
Procedure Lab Co-Director
EMS Instructor
EMS Medical Director
Emergency Services Institute
Cleveland Clinic Foundation
Hillcrest Hospital

Contact us

Happening soon

8th Annual Trauma Symposium

We are having our 8th Annual Trauma Symposium this October. This year we have some brilliant speakers with fantastic topics for physicians, nurses, EMS, legal, and social workers. A sneak peak of these topics are; non-pharmacological ways to treat pain (therapy dogs will be in attendance), non-accidental pediatric trauma (abuse, etc), ethical panel discussion (challenges we all face), and updates from the state trauma committee.

Our NOTS mission is to provide the highest quality of care to patients across our region, and this symposium is great way to get your CME requirements while expanding your knowledge in trauma today. Of note: This year we have extended this symposium to healthcare lawyers and social workers.

Huntington Convention Center of Cleveland


Monday, October 15th from 7:15am to 3:30pm

Tuesday, October 16th from 7:15am to 3:30pm